To cheer up everyone

Oh Marie, that is awful. I know the feeling – you just know that something is phony, but then what to do with these professionals.
So you, attacked by pickpockets and me, covered with snow – I think we need something to cheer us up.
Today I was crying with laughter as I listened to Edvard Grieg’s “I Dovregubbens hall” from Peer Gynt Suite no. 1, also known as “In the Hall of the Mountain King”. Dovregubben is a mountain king from Norway, and that means he is a troll king.
And I wasn’t laughing just because it’s delightful music, but because my treasured colleague and friend was with me and had just told me that this piece of music some times was ringing in her ears as she beheld our boss moving down the hall way at our work. And yes indeed – he is the personification of Dovregubben! He is big (not fat); tall and broad and with lots of dark hair with a touch of grey. And not only: he seems to have some slight sort of motor difficulty. It seems like he has never realised his own size.
My friend and I imagined him dancing wildly in his office when the door is closed and that just spurred the tears!
I haven’t read Ibsen’s play “Peer Gynt”, so I don’t know if Dovregubben is bad or good – but the Dovregubbe in my work is a very kind one.
Listening to “I Dovregubbens hall” having this guy in mind gave me at least an hour more lifetime. If you belong to those that believe laughter prolongs your life.

Please listen to this:
Dovregubben
And then add that the music goes on and gets faster and faster!

/anna

March 6, 2006. Music.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

