Pie – the Sequel

And I’ll have the strawberry pie, thank you. No sour cream, please, I’m trying to quit.

“What’s with the pies”, you ask? Well, as it happens, Anna and I are both very fond of pie. We’ve always been partial towards the pie, but our fixation on said pastry has been intensified since we discovered  The Adventures of Weebl and Bob. My dear Swedish friend Lena (if you’re reading this – hi Lena!) brought my attention to this wonderful web animation, and Anna and I fell in love with it immediately. And inspired by Weebl and Bob and their love of pies, the word “pie” has gradually made its way into Anna’s and my vocabulary (much like the term “sju jætter” as described below) as a synonym for… well, anything good. Because, pie, as Weebl would put it, is “goooooood”. To put things more clearly:

Pie: [pi-], adjective, anglo-saxon origins, descending from sb. “pie”: A baked food composed of a pastry shell filled with fruit, meat, cheese, or other ingredients, and usually covered with a pastry crust. . Ex. “Joaquin Phoenix baked the pie.”. “Pie” as adjective first registered 2005, signifying: A thing, phenomenon, person, etc. that distinguishes itself by being gooooooooood. Ex: “Joaquin Phoenix is pie”. In some cases, the word may also serve as an exlamation. Ex: Person 1: “Joaquin Phoenix and I did some serious making out last night.” Person 2: “Pie!”.

There you are! Another Anna/Marie expression, just for you.

And while we’re on the subject of things that are pie: I just finished a radio project yesterday! Woo-hoo! It’s this radio concept, consisting of two interviews and some musical interludes, that I’ve been working on it for about a month along with two fellow students, and we’ve been totally stressed out about it. And I’m afraid that we haven’t exactly made radio history, but all in all I think we did a pretty good job. And we had fun in the process. And we finished it on time. And that, my friends, is pie.

/marie

PS: “What’s with all the Joaquin Phoenix”, you ask? To which I say: Well, look at him!:

Joaquin Phoenix

‘Nuff said. Pie.

March 31, 2006. Dictionary.

One Comment

  1. Lena replied:

    Late to the party (as always), but thanks for the shout-out! 😀

    Marie’s dear Swedish friend Lena

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

