Ode to Lady Dedlock

So, Anna is going to be at the countryside and away from the internet for three weeks. And you all know what that means, don’t you? That’s right: I can post anything I like, even the most dorky entries, here at the blog for the next 21 days, and Anna has absolutely no say in the matter. Heh heh heh heh heh *evil snicker*…

So, I’ve decided that my first dorky entry in absentia Annæ should be a tribute to a favourite actress of mine; Gillian Anderson.

You see, the names of the nominees for this year’s Emmy Awards were published a couple of days, and I’d just like to take this time to say how thrilled I am that Gillian Anderson is nominated in the category “Best Lead Actress in a Miniseries” for her part as Lady Dedlock in the BBC-production of Dickens’ Bleak House. Gillian Anderson is a brilliant actress and terribly underrated and not used nearly as much as she ought to be, in my opinion. I guess that’s what happens when you’ve got a lead in a long-running and highly popular TV-series, as GA did on The X-Files, and you do as brilliant a job as she did on this show: People tend to have difficulties seperating the actor from the part, and thus the actor’s appearance in other parts will often be considered a distraction and a miscast. However, as GA proved in Bleak House she is more than capable of handling other parts than that of Agent Dana Scully, and I’m pleased to see that the Emmy commitee has not been blind to this fact.

And then I’m also just really pleased to see that the brilliance that was Bleak House has not gone by unnoticed! What a great series it was. Anna and I watched it together, and enjoyed it very much, to the point where we would be text-messaging each other messages reading: “Guuuuppy!” or “Eeeeeesther!”. fondly recalling our favourite characters and scenes in the series. Bleak House deserves at least one Emmy award, so that’s another reason why I’m rooting for Gilly. Who knows, maybe an award would encourage the BBC to continue their line of beautifully produced tv-series based on classics. For instance, oh, I don’t know, perhaps a new production of Jane Eyre? Hmm? *bats eyelashes at the BBC*

So, who are Gillian Anderson’s competition, you ask? Well… that’s the one problem. The other three nominees are Helen Mirren, Annette Benning, and Kathy Bates. And as everybody knows when you look up the word “award winner” in a dictionary, you will find these three names listed. So, yeah. Tough competition. But I remain optimistic! Gillian Anderson and Bleak House deserve this award. And Gillian has done it before: in 1997 she won an Emmy Award for Outstanding Lead Actress in a Drama Series. So, rock on, Gilly! You can do it!

 /marie

Lady Dedlock

Lady Dedlock, as we know her, staring out into eternity; bored with the weather, bored with her life, bored with herself. Well, Honoria, darling, for what it’s worth, the rest of us are anything but bored with your story. Thanks to BBC and Gillian Anderson.

July 8, 2006. Fandom, Odes, Television.

2 Comments

  1. Jenn replied:

    Awww Marie I’m so glad you thought Bleak House was good. We haven’t seen it yet in Australia but it is going to be shown on the ABC channel soon, I saw the shorts of it and I’m looking forward to seeing it. It was a great novel. I love costume dramas so I was excited when they advertised that another one was going to be shown…yay, make more of them I say!!!! Oh Marie I don’t think they could top off the Jane Eyre version with Timothy Dalton hee hee, he is the ultimate Mr Rochester. Oh the other day I bought a version of Jane Eyre starring George C Scott as Mr Rochester and Susannah York as Jane. She made a good Jane. Ahhh Goerge C Scott played Mr Rochester ok but didn’t make my heart go pitty pat like Timothy Dalton!! Yes, it will be great to see Gilly in a period piece and I’m sure you are right and that she played her part well. The pic of her looks great, she really is beautiful, her eyes are very striking.

  2. confidentialattachees replied:

    Ooh! There’s a version of Jane Eyre that Anna doesn’t own already! She’ll be pleased to know that, I’m sure :). Anna and I also agree, however, that the 1983 version of Jane Eyre is the best, particularly because it’s so close to the novel. Timothy Dalton is arguably too handsome for a Rochester, but you don’t really here me complaining about that :). Still, I’d like to see a new Jane Eyre miniseries form the BBC, because the quality of their series has really improved since the early 80s, as Bleak House showed.

    You’ll love Bleak House, I’m sure! It’s very intense and the actors are all terrific in their parts. Can’t wait to hear what you think of it.

     /marie

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

