More Literature. More Canon.

This canon stuff is addictive! Today Marie and I decided to do reversed versions of our canons. So here is my literary canon. We agreed on only including 10 works but I must admit that I have expanded my list to 15. Too many good books out there.
And since Marie’s dad today almost dared me to make a priority I have done so… There.

1. Ovid. Metamorphoses.
2. Dante Alighieri. Purgatory.
3. Virginia Woolf. Mrs Dalloway.
4. Oscar Wilde. The Picture of Dorian Gray.
5. William Shakespeare. Richard III.
6. Karen Blixen. Babette’s Feast.
7. Søren Kierkegaard. Either/Or.
8. Hermann Hesse. Steppenwolf.
9. Leo Tolstoy. War and Peace.
10. Charlotte Brontë. Jane Eyre.
11. Tove Jansson. Moominland Midwinter. (Trollvinter).
12. Hans Christian Andersen. The Pine Tree.
13. Paul Auster. City of Glass (from The New York Trilogy).
14. Frances Hodgson Burnett. The Secret Garden.
15. Alexandre Dumas. The Count of Monte Cristo.

/anna

November 4, 2006. Lists, Literature.

4 Comments

  1. Denise Thea replied:

    You guys are going to get tired of hearing from me. But Narcissus and Goldmund instead of Steppenwolf and PARTS of Out of Africa by Isak Dinesen, who’s Karen Blixen of course. Oh, and Andersen’s Little Match Seller, too!
    Never read (or even heard) of Paul Aster. I’m putting him on my list. With Kierkegaard. You’re making me feel illiterate!
    And yes, Picture of Dorian Gray, absolutely the BEST by Oscar Wilde. I love these lists. I’ll have to make my own. Thanks!

  2. confidentialattachees replied:

    I haven’t read Narcissus and Goldmund but the book is on my shelf so with your recommendation I will take that one down.
    Out of Africa has it’s moments, but I am far more into Karen Blixen’s short stories. Or how about The Angelic Avengers written under the pseudonym Pierre Andrézel – mmm gotta reread that one soon.
    Please make your own list – I’m curious to see it and I am sure Marie is too!
    /anna

  3. confidentialattachees replied:

    Great canon, Anna! I cannot believe I left out Tove Jansson in my own literature canon. Definitely a mistake, that. I would have chosen her short story “The Filyjonk and the Catastrophe” – a story I never tire of.
    Jansson was a remarkable writer… I think she’s underrated, often dismissed as a children’s writer, when clearly her works (especially some of her latest Moomin books) were more than that. Moominpapa at Sea, for instance, is so obviously not a children’s book, with its metaphysical, sinister atmosphere. Wonderful.

    I haven’t read Steppenwolf or War and Peace. *adds them to must-read list…*

    I apologise for my delay in posting my art canon – having just moved yesterday I’m still a bit tied-up, adjusting myself and getting comfortable at my new place. But I’m already working on a mental list, and I’ll post it as soon as possible!

    /marie

  4. Denise Thea replied:

    You girls are so young! I’ve 20 years on you and there’s things on your lists that I haven’t read yet. And I’ve an obsession with lit and art. Keep posting please. You’ve given me lots to think about.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

