Overheard at the University

Professor: …so, as you can see, the mask, and thus the lie, plays an important part in the writings of Stendhal. The lie is the all-important factor in Julien’s relationship with Mathilde…

60-something woman student: But you’re forgetting the fact that one always feels really bad when lying!

Professor: Oh… well…. I don’t know about that. I’d say that while some lies would leave you feeling guilty, there are lies that you could get away with without feeling so terribly remorseful.

60-something woman student: I always feel bad when I’m lying!

Professor (eager to move on): Ok. Then Heaven certainly holds a place for you.

60-something woman student: No, how do you know I wasn’t lying to you just now?

Professor: Well, if that’s the case, then I hope you’re feeling absolutely miserable right now. Ok, moving on…

 – Copenhagen University, the Faculty of Humanities

Overheard by

/marie

November 29, 2006. Literature, Overheard.

3 Comments

  1. silke replied:

    brilliant!!! 😀

  2. confidentialattachees replied:

    I know! It was amazing. Never have I been so happy to have my notebook with me at class :).

    Glad you enjoyed it! And your blog looks interesting, btw! I’ve been wanting to practise my German – reading your blog will be a welcome opportunity.

    /marie

  3. silke replied:

    Yes, I enjoyed it very much. I wish I had a notebook and a blog when I was a student. Now all the funny stories are lost for ever! 😦

    Thanks for your compliments on my blog. It’s still very new – I still don’t know where it will lead me. I was just thinking about writing all my posts in English – at the moment I am switching between the languages depending on my mood – but now I think I will go on as it is! Wow – someone is reading my blog for educational reasons! That’s cool!

    I also loved Anna’s post on the library in Rome! Haha! I think I will post a comment there as well!
    Please go on with your blog, you two! I will come along from time to time and have a look! 🙂

    silke

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

