More Library Adventures

Today when parking my bike in front of the Royal Library I noticed Marie’s bike already standing there. Of course I couldn’t be sure that it was her bike, but it looked a lot like it and Marie has been known to frequent the Royal Library… So I went to the reading room I thought was most likely to be her choice. No Marie, but plenty of French dictionaries for correcting my French exercises. Then I went to the other reading room – the one I like. No Marie there either. So I concluded the bike must have belonged to someone else. After having studied for some hours I went to the café to have some coffee and check my e-mail. The inbox contained a message from Marie beginning with the words: “I am at The Diamond (nickname for the Royal Library) working my brains out.”
The message was sent around the time I had entered the building.
After the coffee I went to the rest room and as I entered the cubicle my eyes fell on a cd-case left on a shelf above the toilet. It was a recording of Don Giovanni conducted by Daniel Harding and with Peter Mattei as the main character. There was no doubt in my mind: Marie had left it there like a small trail. She is the only one I know who owns this recording and who else would bring a recording of Don Giovanni to the Royal Library and forget it in the rest room?
So I put it on top of my little private mountain of books and laptop and left the cubicle. Only to spot Marie’s bag peeping out from behind a wall. And it was hanging from the shoulder of – Marie!
She was waiting for the someone in the cubicle to leave so that she could search for her Don Giovanni!
Sju jætter? How weird was all that?!
/anna
Don Giovanni Harding

November 30, 2006. In the library.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

