My Hero!

Talk of the devil… Today’s newspaper tells me that Jesper Christensen has turned down an order of chivalry from the Queen. He says that having a monarchy is “completely out of touch with a modern philosphy of man”. Well said, Jesper!

Of course he’s right. A loud ‘sju jætter?!’ is ringing in my ears when I think about it. A monarchy? In a modern state? How is that possible?

And Jesper Christensen? He’s even more my hero now. I didn’t think that was possible.

/anna 

December 5, 2006. Uncategorized.

One Comment

  1. confidentialattachees replied:

    I’d like to second that. Well played, well played indeed. And I didn’t think I could love Jesper Christensen more than I already did, either. I saw him at the supermarket about a week ago, and it was all I could to not to corner the poor man between the shelves of fruit juice/toilet supplies, telling him how much I’ve always enjoyed his acting. (I resisted, fortunately.)

    I also like what he says about the institution of the monarchy being a kind of crime against its members. I couldn’t agree more.
    It’s weird, because I’ve more or less come to accept the long-established royalty, the ones I grew up with, but every time I see a picture of the infant prince Christian (born last year), those chubby little fists and that clueless, baby-toothed grin of his, it dawns on me just how wrong the whole thing it, and it makes me so infinitely sad for the little guy to think that his future is already laid out the way it is.

    It’s just not right, it really isn’t.

    /marie

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

