Sense of Proportion

Journalist in front of a greengrocer’s shop in Nørrebro, Copenhagen during one of the recent demonstrations:

“Why haven’t you taken your wares into the shop to protect them from the rioters like all your neighbours?”

Middle Eastern immigrant greengrocer:

“Well, where I come from they throw bombs not cobblestones, so I figure it’s not that bad.
And a demonstrator threw one of my apples at the police and I said “Hey – don’t you steal my apples”, and then he paid me…”

Overheard on the News
/anna

March 4, 2007. Overheard.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

