April – Schumann: “The Fiddler”

I’m in a bit of a hurry, and April’s almost over, so I’m going to give you a very short version of my musical calendar this month.

Hans Christian Andersen

Good old H.C. – affected and brilliant as ever

I’m going to honour Hans Christian Andersen in this post as well, celebrating his birth-month, and I’m going to do so by proposing what I think would have been a great and proper act for a Hans Christian Andersen 200th Birthday Show two years ago: Soprano Inger Dam-Jensen singing one of Schumann’s renditions of HCA’s poems. Voila: Inger Dam-Jensen, singing Schumann’s “Spillemanden” (“The Fiddler”) with lyrics by HCA, accompanied by Christen Stubbe Teglbjærg on piano.

Inger Dam-Jensen

Beautiful Inger Dam-Jensen 

Inger Dam-Jensen has got the beauty of voice to match HCA’s poetry and she’s got the glittering, golden, cornfield-like authencity in her timbre to match HCA’s endearing naivité.

The lyrics are in Danish, but here’s a translation into English. Read ’em and weep:

In the village it is merry

A wedding is celebrated with dancing and music

Toasts are made in wine and mead

But the bride looks like an adorned dead

Yes, dead is she for her beloved one

for he is not there as her bridegroom

In the corner he stands with his sorrow

and plays his fiddle so merrily

He plays till his locks turn gray

He plays till the strings burst

Till the fiddle with sorrow and dread

He crushes against his heart

It is so heavy, so crushingly heavy

to die while one’s heart is still young

I can’t stand to look at it any longer!

I feel it going through my head.

See, the men hold him tightly

– but why do you call me by name?

God keep us all!

I am a poor fiddler myself.

Sniff. Happy Cruelest Month, everyone!

Fiddle 

Random Fiddle

/marie

April 30, 2007. A Musical Year, Music, The course of the year.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

